Implementing Phase 1 of the Third Remuneration Cycle for Teachers

In a landmark move, the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has taken a significant step towards enhancing the remuneration of teachers. On August 28, 2023, an addendum Agreement to the 2021-2025 Collective Bargaining Agreements (CBA) was signed with the Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT), Kenya Union of Post Primary Education Teachers (KUPPET), and Kenya Union of Special Needs Education Teachers (KUSNET). This agreement paves the way for the implementation of Phase 1 of the Third Remuneration Cycle for teachers, bringing about positive changes in compensation structures.


This Circular applies to all teachers employed by the Commission who are in service as of July 1, 2023, marking the initiation of the first phase of the remuneration review.

Incremental Dates

Teachers transitioning to the new salary scales will maintain their current incremental dates. In cases where the incremental date falls on July 1, 2023, teachers will receive their annual increment on the existing salary scales before converting to the new salary points, effective from the same date.

Annual Salary Increment

The annual salary increment for all teachers will persist as outlined in the Code of Regulations for Teachers (2015), ensuring a consistent approach to recognizing teachers’ dedication and service.

Grading & Salary Structure

The existing grading structure and designations, as outlined in Table 1, will continue to be applicable. The new salary structure and Conversion Tables, introduced after the review, are detailed in Tables 2-12 attached to this Circular.


House allowance rates have been categorized into four clusters, each reflecting different geographic locations. Notably, Cluster 4 rates will undergo a two-phase review. The first phase, incorporated into the August payroll, includes arrears backdated to July 1, 2023. The second phase will take effect on July 1, 2024. House allowance rates for Clusters 1, 2, and 3 remain unchanged. Other allowances will continue to be paid as applicable, as outlined in Appendix B.

New TSC Grading System for All Teachers

Table 1 – Job Titles and Scales

  1. Chief Principal: Grade D5, T-Scale 15
  2. Senior Principal: Grade D4, T-Scale 14
  3. Principal: Grade D3, T-Scale 13
  4. Deputy Principal I/Senior Master I/Senior Lecturer I: Grade D2, T-Scale 12
  5. Senior Master II: Grade C5, T-Scale 11
  6. Senior Lecturer II/Deputy Principal III/Senior Headteacher: Grade C5, T-Scale 10
  7. Senior Lecturer III/Senior Master III/Headteacher: Grade C4, T-Scale 9
  8. Senior Lecturer IV/Secondary Teacher I: Grade C4, T-Scale 8
  9. Secondary Teacher II: Grade C3, T-Scale 7
  10. Secondary Teacher III: Grade C2, T-Scale 6
  11. Primary Teacher II: Grade B5, T-Scale 5

This comprehensive restructuring of the grading system reflects a commitment to recognizing the diverse roles and responsibilities within the teaching profession, laying the foundation for a more equitable and motivating compensation structure.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here